top of page

A warm welcome!

House where I live

After 19 hours, two connections and six glasses of wine, for some reason they kept pouring, I finally arrived in Belo Horizonte.

My landlord Breno picked me up. Along the way you already notice how big and hilly the city is. Driving around with the car is like sitting in a rollercoaster. When arrived at home, the mother of Breno, Dona Elza, prepared a nice lunch. In the house there are 10 other students, Dona Elza and the dangerous guard dog named Mike Tyson (see photo). Dona Elza cooks delicious Brazilian food twice a day and keeps the house clean. I soon noticed that I have to learn Portuguese as fast as possible, because almost nobody in the house speaks English. But fortunately, everyone is willing to help me.

The next two days Breno showed me around the city. We visited places like Municipal Park of Mangabeiras and Praca do Papa, which is a park with a view of the whole city.

Later on this week there is a meeting for international students at PUC and for the weekend there will be some house party’s!


bottom of page